Technical Research: Mockumentary Techniques

I used this article to further research techniques that I could utilise to make my mockumentary seem more authentic. In particular, I looked at camera work. Handheld cameras were the way to go as they’d give it a less scripted aesthetic. I tested some of the shots in the locations I needed such as outside the Job Centre.

Another trope I had already implemented was dead pan interviews. The article suggests that the interviewer is presented off screen and the mood is serious. I also already had the idea to use archive footage to set the scene and introduce concepts that some members of the audience might not be familiar with. The article also advises that satire is best suited to the format. I was already going for this form of humor. After reading this article, I am confident that I know the conventions of mockumentaries and have even more ideas for scenes.

Leave a comment